Myanmar is a new and emerging tourist destination in South East Asia. Known to most travelers as the Golden land, Myanmar is rich in cultures and natural attractions. There are numerous pagodas, temples, beauty spots, archaeological sites, snow-peaked mountains, deep forests with abundant flora and fauna, rivers and natural lakes, unspoilt beaches and archipelagos, 135 national races with their colourful costumes and customs, traditional arts and crafts all make up Myanmar the most exotic and fascinating destination in Asia. Visitors will find Myanmar a beautiful and peaceful place with the most hospitable people in the world.


Myanmar is situated in Southeast Asia and is bordered on the north and northeast by China, on the east and southeast by Laos and Thailand, on the south by the Andaman Sea and the Bay of Bengal and on the west by Bangladesh and India. It is located between latitudes 09 32 N and 28 31 N and longitudes 92 10 E and 101 11 E.


The country covers an area of 677,000 square kilometers (261,228 square miles) ranging 936 kilometers (581 miles) from east to west and 2,051 kilometers (1,275 miles) from north to south, It is a land of hills and valleys and is rimmed in the north, east and west by mountain ranges forming a giant horseshoe. Enclosed within the mountain barriers are the flat lands of Ayeyarwaddy, Chindwin and Sittaung River valleys where most of the country’s agricultural land and population are concentrated.


As a whole, the location and topography of the country generated a diversity of climate conditions. Seasonal changes in the monsoon wind directions create summer, rainy and winter seasons. Extremes of temperature are rare. The directions of winds and depression bring rain, and although it is always heavy in the coastal areas during monsoon season, it seldom creates hardships. The Government is giving priority to the forest conservation and greening of nine arid districts in central Myanmar.

Flora and Fauna

Myanmar is endowed with a rich diversity of habitat types arising largely from its unusual ecological diversity. It is home to nearly 300 known mammal species, 300 reptiles and about 100 birds species, and a haven for about 7,000 species of plant life. Since Myanmar considers such a rich pool of bio diversity as an important national asset, the Government has drawn up strict regulations to protect its biological resources.


The Union of Myanmar is made up of 135 national races, of which the main national races are Kachin, Kayah, Kayin, Chin, Bamar, Mon, Rakhine and Shan. Population of the country is estimated at 52.4 million (July, 2003) and the population growth rate is 1.84 percent.


Myanmar possesses a rich and vibrant cultural tradition. Great natural beauty combines with magnificent temple architecture.

Traditionally, Myanmar tourism is based on culture. Myanmar with its long history, culture and religion has many pagodas, temples and monuments all over the country. In addition, Myanmar is also blessed by nature with natural attractions. There are snow-capped mountains, deep forests, cool and scenic places, long rivers, beautiful lakes, and manu unspoiled beaches and archipelagoes. The different national races and their way of life, traditional arts and crafts offer exotic vistas of the nation while the warm hospitality of Myanmar people world-renowned.

Government of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar

1 State Prime Minister Senior General Min Aung Hlaing
2 Deputy Prime Minister Vice-Senior General Soe Win
3 Ministry of Defence General Mya Tun Oo
4 Ministry of Home Affairs Lt-Gen Soe Htut
5 Ministry of Foreign Affairs U Wunna Maung Lwin
6 Ministry of the Union Government Office (I) Lt-Gen Yar Pyae
7 Ministry of Border Affairs Lt-Gen Tun Tun Naung
8 Ministry of Planning and Finance U Win Shein
9 Ministry of Investment and Foreign Economic Relations Dr. Kan Zaw
10 Ministry of International Cooperation U Ko Ko Hlaing
11 Ministry of Legal Affairs Dr. Thidar Oo
12 Ministry of Information U Maung Maung Ohn
13 Ministry of Religious Affairs and Culture U Ko Ko
14 Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Irrigation  U Tin Htut Oo
15 Ministry of Cooperatives and Rural Development U Hla Moe
16 Ministry of Transport and Communication Admiral Tin Aung San
17 Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation U Khin Maung Yi
18 Ministry of Electricity U Thaung Han
19 Ministry of Energy U Myo Myint Oo
20 Ministry of Industry Dr. Charlie Than
21 Ministry of Immigration and Population U Myint Kyaing
22 Ministry of Labour Dr. Pwint San
23 Ministry of Commerce U Aung Naing Oo
24 Ministry of Education Dr. Nyunt Pe
25 Ministry of Science and Technology Dr. Myo Thein Kyaw
26 Ministry of Health Dr. Thet Khaing Win
27 Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs U Min Thein Zan
28 Ministry of Construction U Shwe Lay
29 Ministry of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement Dr. Thet Thet Khaing
30 Ministry of Hotels and Tourism Dr. Htay Aung
31 Ministry of Ethnic Affairs U Saw Tun Aung Myint
32 Secretary, Government of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar U Zaw Than Thin